Map quiz review

1. Munster

- a. In 1841 before the Great Famine, there were just under three million people living in the province of Munster, but the population dropped devastatingly low due to mass emigration in the 1840s and continued emigration up until the 1980s.
- b. Michael Collins.
 - i. For 30 days during the Irish Civil War, the province of Munster broke away from the Irish Free State and established the Munster Republic in opposition to the acceptance of the Anglo-Irish Treaty.
 - ii. Counties/cities
 - (1) County Clare
 - (2) County Cork
 - (a) Cork city
 - (b) Kinsale
 - (i) 1601 English forces defeated an Irish/Spanish force, led by the princes Hugh Roe O'Donnell and Hugh O'Neill.[3] Following this battle the Flight of the Earls occurred in which a number of the native Irish aristocrats.
 - (ii) 1690, James II of England and Ireland, following his defeat at the Battle of the Boyne, departed to France.
 - (3) County Kerry
 - (a) O'Connell was born near Caherciveen, County Kerry, to a once-wealthy Roman Catholic family.
 - (4) County Limerick
 - (a) Limerick city
 - (i) besieged by Oliver Cromwell in 1651 and twice by the Williamites in the 1690s
 - (b) Limerick 1691
 - (5) County Tipperary
 - (6) County Waterford

2. Leinster

- a. counties
 - i. Carlow
 - ii. County Dublin
 - (1) Dublin Castle, seat of Lord Lieutenant, and British power in Ireland
 - iii. County Kildare
 - (1) Home of St Patrick's College, Maynooth,"National Seminary for Ireland," est. by Grattan's Parliament 1795, British supply annual grant from 1845
 - iv. Kilkenny, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Offaly, Westmeath, Wexford and Wicklow
- b. Leinster has the largest population of the four provinces of Ireland.
- c. The Pale
 - i. Tudor reconquest of Ireland in the following decades, in which Dublin

and the surviving Pale was used as the main military base for expansion.

3. Connacht

- a. counties Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo.
- b. urban centres Galway in the south, and Sligo in the north.
- c. smallest pop. of the four Irish provinces
- d. Gaeltacht areas of west Mayo and west Galway
- e. alternative anglicised spelling officially used during the Union is Connaught
- f. Aran Islands
 - i. three islands located at the mouth of Galway Bay
 - ii. Irish is a spoken language on all three islands
- 4. Ulster is traditionally composed of nine counties
 - a. Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry, and Tyrone are part of Northern Ireland
 - i. siege of Londonderry, 1689, role in Orange Order foundation 1795
 - ii. Belfast and industrial development in 19th century
 - b. Cavan, Donegal, and Monaghan are part of the Republic of Ireland
 - c. Role of Scots-Irish, Presbyterians after the Ulster Plantations 1610s