Jane Addams Book Award:

Children's Books that Build for Peace

The Jane Addams Children's Book Award has been presented annually since 1953 by the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom and the Jane Addams Peace Association to the children's book of the preceding year that most effectively promotes the cause of peace, social justice and world community.

A national committee of people concerned with children's books and their social values is responsible for making the choices each year. Books may be submitted by the publishers or requested by the committee. Books for preschool through high school ages are eligible, including translations or titles published in English in other countries. Beginning in 1993, a Picture Book category was added to the award.

Announcement of the award is made each fall on the anniversary of Jane Addams' birth date, September 6. The award winning author receives a hand-illuminated scroll; silver seals are placed on the book jacket by the publisher. Honor books may also be chosen; honor scrolls are awarded to books that merit this recognition.

The Jane Addams Peace Association (777 United Nations Plaza, New York, NY 10017) was founded in 1948 "to foster a better understanding between the people of the world toward the end that wars may be avoided and a more lasting peace enjoyed." It is the educational affiliate of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, founded in 1915 with Jane Addams as its first president. Jane Addams was the first American woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize, which she received in 1931.

Jane Addams Children's Book Award Winners

Prepared by CCBC Director Ginny Moore Kruse in 1982; updated annually.

Cooperative Children's Book Center
School of Education/University of Wisconsin-Madison
4290 Helen C. White Hall
600 North Park Street
Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-3720