Excursions in Physics

PHY 3050

Fall 2001

1300 - 1350 M, W, F

Classroom: 2114?, Old Science

Dr Doug Davis

Office: Room 126A

581-6346

DDavis@eiu.edu

Office Hours: 1100 M W F

| 3050 Home Page | Dr D's Home Page | WebCT info

Dates are tentative or approximate

General Course Calendar

Mon, Aug 20 -- Introduction
                  TMU 1, Intro to TMU
Wed, Aug 22 -- Ch 2 (of Conceptual Physics), Linear Motion
                  TMU 2, Falling Bodies
Fri, Aug 24 -- Ch 2, Linear Motion

Mon, Aug 27 -- Ch 2, Linear Motion
Wed, Aug 29 -- Ch 2, Linear Motion;  Ex 11, 12, 15, 19, 20; Pb 2, 3, 4, 6, 7
               Ch 3, Nonlinear Motion
Fri, Aug 31 -- Ch 3, Nonlinear Motion

Mon, Sep  3 -- Labor Day -- NO CLASSES
Wed, Sep  5 -- Ch 3, Nonlinear Motion;  Ex 6, 9, 10, 14, 17, 27; Pb 1, 6, 10
                    TMU 4,  Inertia
Fri, Sep  7 -- Ch 4, Newton's Laws of Motion
                    TMU 6,  Newton's Laws

Mon, Sep 10 -- Ch 4, Newton's Laws of Motion
                    TMU 9,  Moving in Circles
Wed, Sep 12 -- Ch 4, Newton's Laws of Motion;
                         Ex 4, 6, 11, 21, 22, 27, 31, 34, 36, 43; 
                         Pb 2, 3, 5
                    TMU 10,  Fundamental Forces
               Questions for first hour exam?
Fri, Sep 14 -- Hour Exam #1 (Chapters 1 - 4)
               Old Hour Exams
 
Mon, Sep 17 -- discuss Hour Exam #1;
                    TMU 15, Conservation of Momentum
Wed, Sep 19 -- Ch 5, Momentum
               Ch 5, Momentum;  Ex 1, 2, 3, 11, 17, 18, 19, 24, 25, 31, 32
Fri, Sep 21 -- Ch 6, Energy
                    TMU 13, Conservation of Energy 

Mon, Sep 24 -- Ch 6, Energy
                    TMU 14, Potential Energy
Wed, Sep 26 -- "The Convincer"  Experiments on the quad!
Fri, Sep 28 -- Ch 6, Energy;  Ex 5, 7, 8, 9, 21, 23; Pb 1, 2, 4 
               Ch 7, Rotational Motion

Mon, Oct  1 -- Ch 7, Rotational Motion; Ex 2, 6, 11, 18, 20, 23, 28, 37; Pb 1
               Ch 8, Gravity
Wed, Oct  3 -- Ch 8: Gravity; Ex 2, 6, 10, 11, 13, 15, 21, 38, 40; Pb 1
                    TMU 8, The Apple and the Moon 
               Questions for second hour exam?
Fri, Oct  5 -- Fall Break -- NO CLASSES
                                    
Mon, Oct  8 -- Hour Exam #2 (Chapters 5 - 8)
                Old Hour Exams
Wed, Oct 10 -- discuss Hour Exam #2 
               Ch 10 (of Adventures in Physics), Periodic Motion
            -- mid-term
Fri, Oct 12 -- Ch 10, Periodic Motion
                   TMU 16, Harmonic Motion

Mon, Oct 15 -- Ch 10, Periodic Motion;  3, 4, 5, 9, 13, 14, 15, 16
                   TMU 17, Resonance
               Ch 11, Waves
Wed, Oct 17 -- Ch 11, Waves
                   TMU 18, Waves
Fri, Oct 19 -- Ch 11, Waves;  1, 3, 7, 8, 9, 12, 14, 15
               Ch 12, Sound and Music

Fri, Oct 22 -- Ch 12, Sound and Music
Fri, Oct 24 -- Ch 12, Sound and Music;  1, 2, 5, 8, 10, 12, 14, 15, 16, 20, 22
               Questions for third hour exam?
Fri, Oct 26 -- Hour Exam #3
               Old Hour Exams
 
Mon, Oct 29 -- discuss Hour Exam #3
Wed, Oct 31 -- PSSC movie on video, Introduction to Optics
Fri, Nov  2 -- Ch 16, Reflection and Refraction
                    TMU 40, Optics  

Mon, Nov  5 --  Ch 16, Reflection and Refraction;
                              1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 15, 16, 18, 19, 22
               Ch 17, Color and Vision
Wed, Nov  7 --  Ch 17, Color and Vision; 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 17, 19,
                           20, 25, 26, 28, 31, 32, 33, 38, 40, 41, 47
                           Calculational 5, 6
Fri, Nov  9 -- Ch 18, Mirrors and Lenses (Image Formation)

Mon, Nov 12 -- Ch 18, Mirrors and Lenses (Ray Diagrams!)
Wed, Nov 14 -- Ch 18, Mirrors and Lenses;  2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12,
                            17, 19, 20, 25, 26; Calculational 5
               Ch 19, Optical Instruments
Fri, Nov 16 -- Ch 19, Optical Instruments, 1 - 10
               Ch 20, Wave Optics

Mon, Nov 19 -- Thanksgiving Break -- NO CLASSES
Wed, Nov 21 -- Thanksgiving Break -- NO CLASSES
ThR, Nov 22 -- Thanksgiving DAY!! -- NO CLASSES 
Fri, Nov 23 -- Thanksgiving Break -- NO CLASSES

Mon, Nov 26 -- Ch 20, Wave Optics
Wed, Nov 28 -- TMU 27: Beyond the Mechanical Universe 
Fri, Nov 30 -- TMU 52: The Quantum Mechanical Universe

Mon, Dec  3 -- Ch 20, Wave Optics
               Ch 20, Wave Optics, 1 - 12
               Questions for fourth Hour Exam?
Wed, Dec  5 -- Hour Exam #4
               Old Hour Exams
               Final Exam for Excursions OnLine!
Fri, Dec  7 -- discuss Hour Exam #4 -- last class day

XXX, Dec  ? -- Final Exam


Excursions Bulletin Board and Online Quizzes

WebCT -- your online quizzes -- seems to be working alright -- most of the time and for most people. But the quizzes are still behaving strangely for some of you.

If you are still having trouble with the OnLine Quizzes, you might want to look at either of these web sites:

http://www.ux1.eiu.edu/~cflkw

Read the web page about Technical Issues.